Discuss 11kv pole loop fault, over voltage ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi first post, I'm a pretty well experienced electrician of 15 years now working solely in Agricultural electrical
We have a lot of voltage sensitive equipment on our farms which run auto ventilation and alarms ect

Today we had a huge bang from the 11kv pole transformer on one of our sites, the generator kicked in but out of 18 alarm dialers I think all 18 plus some pcbs on our ventilation panels have been fried.

When sp energy had finished it looks to me as the fault was worn insulators on the 11kv loop on top of the pole and not a transformer problem, this short on the pole happened around 1pm yet all the affected alarm pcbs faulted whilst on generator power 415v at around 2.15pm
My question is... could the loss of the 11kv loop bring in a flash of over voltage or is it possible the generator over generated and caused over voltage? On some pcbs 50ma glass fuses have survived yet the panels are dead

Thanks very much
Mike

If the installation was isolated from the grid at 1pm
and running on a generator set after that, how could a grid fault cause damage, 2 hours after the site was disconnected from the grid?

If the installation was isolated from the grid at 1pm
and running on a generator set after that, how could a grid fault cause damage, 2 hours after the site was disconnected from the grid?
You know what James I don't bother with forums because of answers like thst, totally unhelpful, read it ..... my question was when the incident happened could that loss at the loop cause the problem

James has a point. It does seem unlikely that damage inflicted from the DNO supply before the transfer switch transferred, didn't show up on any of the units until later, when they all went down.