Discuss 12 volt laptop charger query in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Firstly I'm new here so forgive me if this is in the wrong place or a stupid query, I'm no electrician by any stretch.

I'm looking at buying a charger to charge my laptop my truck whilst engine is running mostly. I'd rather not go down the inverter route if possible due to employers concerns over them somehow damaging the truck wiring.

I've come across a dedicated charger supposedly for my specific laptop. It outputs 19 volts at 6.3 amps so 120 watts. My query is, is it even possible to output this from a 12v socket theoretically rated at 5 volts so only 60 watts. Output from socket is DC if I'm not mistaken and charger outputs AC I would think. I've no idea how the conversion works but I thought the power would be constant regardless of conversion i.e. if upped from 12v to 19v then current would reduce to ~ 3.1 amps. Am I completely wrong and confused?

Honestly I hope I am as the charger would be really handy in fact pretty essential.

Thanks in advance

is the charger yo have seen designed for 12V or 24V input? what voltage is your truck? HGVs are usually 24V.

The adapter is probably designed for a 12V 10A power supply from the vehicle. If you only have a 5A supply then you could blow the fuse if you were running the laptop hard, however it should be fine for just charging the battery without the laptop running. Though in all likelihood the laptop be drawing power mainly from the internal battery only using the outside supply to charge the battery, if the battery was not too flat.

Thanks Richard, That's pretty much the conclusion I'd come to as well after thinking about it a little more. I'm thinking I'll just try it and see how it goes, maybe just have a spare 5A fuse on standby first. Now just to figure out where the sockets are fused.