Discuss 12v MR16 LED bulb question in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

Octopus

A (plumber) mate of mine, has changed a standard 12v downlight to a LED downlight - he tells me that the first bulb he tried flickers a few times before coming on and the 2nd bulb is worse. The original standard bulb is back in so the transformer is OK.

The lamp is fitted into one of those light/extractor fan devices.

Any ideas what's going on?

Its been a long day and I'm tired!

The LED MR16 will work on most standard low voltage transformers. however some transformers are 20-60 VA and can cause problems with this lamp. If this is the case it is best to replace the transformer With a LED comparable one

Check the transformer to see if it has a minimum required load to function properly.

Do you know what brand the LED bulb is, maybe for best results it should be run with an LED driver, they cost about £10.

I'm new to this LED game.

But there's constant current or constant voltage to choose from, get the wrong one and they don't work properly???

240v is king!

Drew have you some examples of constant current or constant voltage drivers?

Could you elaborate a bit more on what you are saying, what do you mean by constant current and constant voltage drivers and what is the difference?

Thanks.

Just some of my ideas about the situation:

A standard cheap electronic lighting transformer will only start to work correctly once the minimum loading is reached, before that level is reached the transformer might only flicker or not operate at all.
This is something to do with the two sides of the transformer needing to reach (a term which escapes me at the moment I am thinking hysteresis but this is not right, think synchronous amplitudes) and then it will start working.

LEDs as a component require a minimum voltage to operate and also require a constant current because without any control they will continue to conduct higher and higher current until they burn out.