Discuss 2 questions!! in the Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

evo666

My first real post and I have 2 in 1 (the start of things to come)

First one

I am a genral builder that has carried out loads of electrical work in the past (over 10 years ago) and have just done my Part P. I have taken on a job that was started by another company. The entire electrical work was completed before I started (the company was thrown of the job). Now that customer needs her Electrical Installation Certifficate, can I do it??
If so how do I complete the form as I was neither the designer or constructor??!!

Second one
I have been asked to re-wire some lights, the customer wants downlighters in all rooms. Would I wire them in series (link from fitting to fitting) or use a JB of some description (like a ceiling rose??)
I hope that makes sense

Be nice to me ;)

Evo,

Ok, you could do an EIC short form, but you have to accept that when you sign it, you are taking repsonsibility for the installation. If the customer had shock of a circuit because of problems you cant see behind the plaster etc, then bottom line is its your signature!

A 'get out' could be, that on the EIC under "extent of installation covered by this cerificate" you state that the work was carried out by a seperate contractor, although this would still be a pretty weak argument if the doo-doos hit the fan.

If the original firm were a member of NIC etc then I would be calling on them to force the frim into signing for the work they have done, as they have contravened the regs

But at the end of the day, you have no resposnsibilities (as it stands) for this installation.
i would want lots of folding stuff before i would sign off someone elses work and take responsibility for it (which you would be doing):eek:

Thats is about what I thought . Thanks for that buddy.