Discuss 2 way switch in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi there. Im a 1st year apprentice and I know how to wire a 1way switch..........now i want to know how to wire a 2way. Then after that, i suppose its the intermediate switch!! Could someone post a wiring diagram of a 2way switch please.

appreciate your help
kallam

Two way + intermediate switching using 3c/e

Ultimate Handyman: three way light switching

Two way switching using 3c/e

Ultimate Handyman: two way light switching

The above are pretty much the norm these days, but you could use a JB & terminal strip that isnt so common now.

hiya easy fox. i am correct in saying these are the conversion methods of a lighitng circuit diagram?

regards luke

Yes they are, but now seem to be used as standard installation practise for 2way lighting.
Quite a bit easyier than using the JB method.

Thought I'd dig up an old thread instead of starting a new one.

I don't feel I have ever properly learned two way and intermediate switching and I really need to sort this out. I am almost OK with 2 way switching as long as the 3 plate method is used on the light fittings. But I am second fixing a house at the moment where the lights have been wired with the mains going to the switch and not three plated at the light. Can anyone show me any diagrams of how to do these.

Thanks.

The same way - take a 3 core between switches, then at one switch permanent live and switched live to L1 and L2. The only differences are the 2 wires going to the light are switched live and neutral, the permanent live coming straight in from elsewhere.
The intermediate is done exactly the same way - strappers into the switch, common in terminal block.