Discuss 3 phase db converted to single phase with 10mm earth in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

daveelectrician

EF Member
Hi.Today during my job at a police station, took cover off brand new KQ 3 phase SquareD db (recent db change by different firm) to connect my new ring to one of the ways and found that the 3 phase db had been converted to single phase. 25mm double insulated tails live and neutral, L1, L2 and L3 linked out using some 10mm earth cable. To me i would say that is a c1 fault, so refused to make my circuit live until c1 was rectified. What is everyones opinion on this and does anyone know if there is a linking kit available from schneider.

DNS1

Electrician's Arms
If all 3 phases are connected together and to the line side of the incommer, surely that means 415v for the whole system?!

I'm not an expert in 3 phase, but that just sounds plain wrong (and that's before we get to using 10mm earth as a line conductor!)

K

Knobhead

Have you been in touch with Schneider?

It's not unusual to convert a board like this. One danger is the neutral rail being overloaded.

K

Knobhead

If all 3 phases are connected together and to the line side of the incommer, surely that means 415v for the whole system?!

I'm not an expert in 3 phase, but that just sounds plain wrong (and that's before we get to using 10mm earth as a line conductor!)
How do you work that out?

Amp David

Mentor
Electrician's Arms
Trainee Access
Some manufacturers do sell a conversion kit that does exactly what you have found

G

Guest123

Single phase conversion kits are available when using a 3p DB with a 1p supply.

Linking out using 10mm is dog rough but not a C1 imo.

Sent from my HTC Desire C using Tapatalk 2

Richard

Regular EF Member

No I think the Op means that it's a three dis board fed by a single phase and neutral...no?

DNS1

Electrician's Arms