Discuss 3 phase to single phase in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

Bongo

Hi everyone, newbie here to this forum.
i have been asked to see whether it is possible to adapt 3phase supply to single phase using 5 x pin & 3 x pin 64a trailing sockets
it is to run a catering van which has equipment pushing 50a if everything was on. i was thinking of using 10mm braided cable for the connection. the van has 63a RCD protection & everthing has been passed & signed off.
Can it be done?

Welcome to the forum.

Your a Trainee Electrician so you should be working under or alongside a competent supervisor - is this question better not asked to him/her first?

If you check the installation existing can still handle a 50amp load on 1-phase then a few options exist but we need a detailed breakdown of the existing set-up...we can't possible answer without more knowledge.

Why are you choosing braided cable? If you are fitting a plug to supply end your going to find issue earthing the braiding!
What is the front end device for the existing set-up?
When you calculated load did you apply diversity?
Routing of the flex and plug will also require some thought and assume outside so IP requirements and UV tolerances are 2 key things to consider - you cant just pick a flex and wire it you need to know the environmental protection the sheath provides - another reason SY is not a good choice.

The best soloution is a ready made 3ph to 1ph distribution unit.
Personally I prefer rubber box company but many other brands are available.

Braided flex (SY I assume) is not suitable. Black rubber ho7rnf flex is the accepted standard for temporary supplies in the places you are likely to be taking a mobile catering van.

I do a fair amount of outdoor event & festival work so have a little experience in this area.