Discuss A Facebook question about Earthing and Grounding in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

_q12x_

DIY
Reaction score
I find this question on Facebook:
1644457129581.png
And I give it my answer already and I will post my answer that I already made for it.
But I am curious what you guys will say first, without me influencing you with my answer.
I am an artist, I am not an electrician or electronist. My relation with electronics is in the hobby level. But I am an old hobbyist and not a beginner and I have some good knowledge from long time ago that I still remember and apply and guide even today.
I am curious what you will say, my good friend here, mister @marconi about this difference and if it is one? ;)
Thank you.

IMO, we call it earthing in the UK. you call it grounding in USA. that's the only difference., except for the fact that we only earth the neutral before the installation distribution board ( think you call that a panel).

Bonding means basically ensuring that a set of items is kept at the same potential. This will undoubtedly involve earthing, however it is a common point which is the key. It is no good connecting a water pipe to earth somewhere, and then some other metalwork to a separate earth rod which is not connected in anyway to the other earth.

That's trying to keep it in layman's terms.

The way I always thought of it- rightly or wrongly- was that earthing was to do with the supply… the earth is the circuit path back to the power station or substation or whatever
Bonding was to make sure everything within touching distance was linked.. so you couldn’t touch a high potential and low potential at the same time. The clue is in the name “equipotential” bonding.

Ground, I took as something for DC circuits. Ie, on a vehicle.
The negative of the battery being attached to the chassis, and the return path of all loads was through the grounded chassis.

I’m sure some DC power supplies use “GND” instead of a negative symbol.