Discuss Adding a socket to a garage circuit. in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

voltemort

DIY
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've got a garage with a circuit that looks like this:

current.png

I believe it's a radial circuit coming out of the MCB with a current rating of 20A. It goes in to a switch containing a 5A fuse (fused spur?). It then has two wires coming from it: one for a bulb, and the other for a socket.

I would like to add another socket in the garage. I'm thinking the simplest way would be to add a junction box before the current socket, and add the new socket from this junction box:

proposed.png

Would this be the best way to do it?

The wiring seems a bit odd with having the bulb wired in to a switch, but then having the garage door connected using the socket. So any advice in general for tidying up the current circuit would be appreciated.

I have some experience with DIY wiring, but I'm not a professional.

Seems quite normal if I read it right.

20A feeds the spur, and the live supply continues to the socket. The light comes off the load side of the spur.

You can branch off a radial circuit anywhere… so whatever is easy between a joint box or coming from the back of the socket.

Hi everyone,

I've got a garage with a circuit that looks like this:

View attachment 106658

I believe it's a radial circuit coming out of the MCB with a current rating of 20A. It goes in to a switch containing a 5A fuse (fused spur?). It then has two wires coming from it: one for a bulb, and the other for a socket.

I would like to add another socket in the garage. I'm thinking the simplest way would be to add a junction box before the current socket, and add the new socket from this junction box:

View attachment 106659

Would this be the best way to do it?