Discuss Adding RCD to existing installation - what options are now allowable? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

aesmith

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi,

First off let me say that this will be a professional job, but I want to fully understand the possible options before getting anyone to look at and quote for the work. I'm posting in DIY as I'm not an electrician, although I think I understand many aspects.

The house has had a very recent new consumer unit fitted to replace an old fuse board, but without a rewire. The board is a standard looking Hager model with two pole main switch, 9 MCB circuits, and five available ways. As far as I can determine there is no RCD either in or outside the CU. I'm surprised as I though that RCD protection was fitted as a matter of course nowadays, but I guess the practice is different when working on an existing installation. I am trying to get hold of the paperwork from the CU replacement, in case that provides more info.

What options do you think we would have? I believe, but please correct me, that it's now allowed to have a single external RCD protection the whole installation which is what we had in a previous house. Is it likely that the Hager CU could be reconfigured to create a split RCD/non-RCD configuration, or could that only be determined by an electrician looking inside?

Any comments welcome.

Thanks, Tony S

Could you post a picture of your new CU, it will make things a lot easier. If you can't post a pic try uploading it to a hosting site or until a mod gives you rights too.

I would advise AGAINST a single up front RCD, unless the house is tested thoroughly, or you could be walking into a lot of hassle. To post a picky you need 6 posts