Discuss Advice needed for best course of action in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi new to the forum... I am a electrical maintenance engineer... But recently I have been asked if I could rewire a 2 bed bungalow for a friend.. (mates rates)... My question is as an electrical maintenance engineer I am more than competent to do the physical work... But what legislation do I need to be aware of with regards sign off.. Building regs and part ect... Any advice would be appreciated... Can I do the work and get a third party to sign off?

Firstly I'd be sure you even want to do a job like this for "mates rates", there is a risk of being taken advantage of and being seriously out of pocket compared to what you'd earn for the same hours.

The work is notifiable to Building Control, some local authorities are more amenable than others regarding people outside a CPS notifying work. There may be quite significant fees (hundreds £), I heard from someone in the dept. of one LABC that they charge as much as they can get away with in the hope nobody asks to pay it!

The answer to your last question is yes but they have to design the installation, inspect it during installation and then conduct the final inspection and test.

You need to look at Approved Document P for your obligations with regards to the electrical installation and obviously check out the other approved documents to ensure you comply with other things such as the structural requirements (like where you can and cannot drill holes in joists etc.).

If you've got quals, have a chat with your local building control department and see what they would want from you to consider you competent. Many LABCDs accept quals as proof of competence which then allows you to submit an EIC, you probably have to notify in advance and pay but it would probably be cheaper than paying a third party.