Discuss Advice on getting back into the industry in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Evening Guys,

I started training as an electrician when I left school at 16 but left the industry behind before I was fully qualified. At the time I wasn't really enjoying the work and thought I knew better, naively leaving the 9-5 behind to 'travel the world'.

I completed my C&G level 2 and 3 straight out of school, I also passed my 17th edition exam. I started working for a company towards the end of my second year at college and continued to work for them for about 14 months in total. During this time I also completed about 90% of my NVQ lvl 3 (I believe it was just the site visits I needed to complete.) The work was mainly commercial, including a fair amount of shop fitting.

I'm now 25 years old, in crippling debt and without even transport looking to get back into the industry. I realise I'm not the most attractive prospect to a employer but does anyone have any advice of how I should proceed?

I'm not even sure how I should describe myself, as a Mate, Apprentice, Improver or maybe even a Labourer? I feel like in the 5/6 years off I've forgotten a lot not having put it into practice straight out of college. I'm also thinking that my best bet is looking into local domestic installers at this point, seeing if anybody needs a hand - however with my limited background in domestic, I'm just not sure.

Having read through this forum a fair bit, I think my route would have to be:

- Find a job as a Mate/Labourer.
- Complete my 18th Edition.
- Complete my NVQ 3 from scratch.
- Complete my AM2 once I feel confident I'm back up to scratch.