Discuss Advice on re-joining two main cables after patio door installation in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jamie Graham

Hi,

I'm looking to re-join the two spurs legally and safely after the wall was knocked out under the window where the cables ran in a channel in the plaster. I am not a qualified electrician.

I have a channel in the concrete floor (under the new patio doors and laminate floor) that I have run fresh mains cables alongside the central heating pipes.

Since where I join the fresh cable has to be accessible I was thinking of using a metal backbox (Toolstation > Electrical > Boxes & Pattresses > Metal Box with Knock Outs) sunk into the wall on each side of the new patio doors. Then run the cables into this and make the physical joins to the cables inside. Then fit a blanking plate on there to keep it hidden but accessible.

Can I legally use 30a connector strip (Toolstation > Electrical > Cable Management > Connector Strip) to make the physical connections? Should I put heat shrink insulation over the top or would this make it less safe by hiding the physical connection (so overheating/poor connection would be hidden from casual inspection)?
Is there a better way to solve this without having to channel out all the walls and lay a fresh ring cable with no need for joins?

While I have the wall apart in this local area I want to drill through and run a new spur though the wall to fit an outdoor socket and patio light. Can this spur be made from the normal ring mains in the living room via a junction box or does it legally need a fresh cable back to the consumer unit.

Thanks for reading. Any advice welcomed.