Discuss Advice on Shower Repair in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

Rich18144

Hi All,

I was hoping you'd be able to advise whether or not this is as simple a repair as it looks to me? I have some electronics experience, but in a thoroughly amateur capacity and nothing on any home appliances beyond re-wiring a plug.

Our shower has made a popping noise, followed by a odd burning plastic smell. I took off the Shower casing and found the scene in the images below:

Advice on Shower Repair 20150605_172504 - EletriciansForums.netAdvice on Shower Repair 20150605_172513 - EletriciansForums.netAdvice on Shower Repair 20150605_172528 - EletriciansForums.net

Looking at it, it would appear that I just need to replace the blue wire that has been damaged? In mind my mind it only requires a replacement Live wire, soldered to the circular black disk and screwed into the electronic point.

Would I need to get electrician in for this? Or is it as simple as I think?

Thank you for your time,

Rich

Attachments

• Advice on Shower Repair 20150605_172528 - EletriciansForums.net
    20150605_172528.jpg
    156.9 KB · Views: 72
  • Advice on Shower Repair 20150605_172513 - EletriciansForums.net
    20150605_172513.jpg
    146.4 KB · Views: 66
  • Advice on Shower Repair 20150605_172504 - EletriciansForums.net
    20150605_172504.jpg
    121.7 KB · Views: 64
Firstly I'm hoping you've isolated the supply to the shower at the CU. To be safe switch the entire CU off on the isolator switch.