Discuss Advice on Wiring my Garage in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

special_dx

Hi All

I'm a newbie to wiring and this forum, but I am reasonably technically minded and cautious. I will try to keep this simple, but I am behind the curve on requirements and terminology and I would like advice on what I need to do regarding regulations and my expectations of what I can actually instal.

My plan is to assemble the materials I need to wire my garage and get a local part P electrician to do the job with my help as labour as I am on a tight budget; he has already agreed and given me some basic advice, but I wanted some collective knowledge and guidance on my ideas.

The structure:-

-New concrete sectional 18'3" by 8'6" Lidget pent roof garage with steel doors next to boundary.

-I have insulated the ceiling to stop condensation using 30mm polystyrene with 1/4" ply and treated lath frame and painted the floor with a polyurethane product.

-Doors well sealed against moisture ingress and wall sections sealed with mastik at the slab.

-I have put some freestanding kitchen units and work top in half of garage as work area for mechanical fitting and power tools (domestic/hobby use only), the other half houses my motorbikes.

Advice needed:-

-The consumer unit in the house is full, it was installed less than 18 months old as part of a full rewire when we bought the property; can I get a second smaller CU installed to feed the garage via 10-15 feet of suitable SWA cable and what will it need in terms of switches/breakers etc?