Discuss Advise needed. Diesel generator loading issues in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I would really appreciate some advise. I'm a domestic electrician but my neighbors asked me for some help on a issue he has and here I am.

So my neighbor has a tree surgeon company, they have a yard where the cut and dry logs as well. So they've just got a new drying system installed and have a new 20KVA generator to power the yard. A few weeks ago the generator started spewing oil, the manufactures said it's because the generator is be under loaded, so they said they should ideally run the generator at 12KVA to be most efficient.

I went to the yard today and the supply is 3-phase. I measure the current drawn on each phases as L1:4.4amps - L2:0.4amps - L3-1.0amps

Total loading 5.8amps. If I put this into KVA I get 4.0KVA on 230v and 5.8KVA on 400v.

I worked out 12KVA to be around 17.3amps

Any if the above i correct or am I completely wrong somewhere. Also any advise on the best way to increase the loading, the yard is ran 24/7 and is in constant us. I was thinking of a dummy load, but wanted to get other opinions or ideas! I've attached a pic or 2 of the generator and controls.

Any advise is welcome.

Advise needed. Diesel generator loading issues IMG_7746.JPG - EletriciansForums.net

Advise needed. Diesel generator loading issues IMG_7747.JPG - EletriciansForums.net

Not sure how you got those numbers!
5.8*230 = 1.3kVA