Discuss Advise on becoming a self employed contractor :) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sam Lapham

Hello,
I am currently an Apprentice/Improver for an electrical firm focussing on commercial/Industrial installations but I am getting layed off once I have completed my AM2 (October) after which I will be fully qualified. Once my AM2 has been completed the opportunity of becoming self employed has really appealed to me but I am a bit lost on where to start. Where I am living at the moment (Bath/Bristol) there is ALOT of new big construction sites but I am just after some information regarding getting on to them, unless directly employed by the contractor is agencys the only way? Is there a way of finding out what agencys the company in charge of the site uses? I am confindent in what I do but I was thinking of starting off as a mate to get to grips with the bigger construction sites and to see what is expected of the other electricians on site. If anyone has any advise I would be very gratefull!! Thanks

Just phone Hrmc and ask for UTR number... I don't know if I made mistake or not but i said to my first agency il even take mates job to get started , but I'm doing sparks work and don't know weather to say I would like more money , or jump ship or see out contract as only 10 weeks ..

Just phone Hrmc and ask for UTR number... I don't know if I made mistake or not but i said to my first agency il even take mates job to get started , but I'm doing sparks work and don't know weather to say I would like more money , or jump ship or see out contract as only 10 weeks ..

That's probably why Electricians can't get decent rates because blokes are working for mates rates.