Discuss Advise regarding a shower. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

thequietone

Hi, I'm after some advise really. I'm looking at exchanging house's from South Cambs DC to Cambridge City council and a house that we looked at and liked the homeowner is putting in his own power shower in the upstairs bathroom. I did ask him who was installing it and he said he was, I then asked him if he was NICEIC registered and would it be certificated to which he replied that his mate was and he'd certificate the work.

Now I'm not an electrician but I thought that you had to be qualified to carry out this work. He also said that he had put the shower in but it was 'faulty' and had taken it out again and was going to get another one. There was also a shower room downstairs that had a washing machine/tumble dryer in it. I asked him if that room still had a shower in it as you couldn't see behind the appliances and he said he had taken that out. All this fills me with dread.

What is the rules regarding installing this shower and do you know if the council would do a test on the electrics on this house before any exchange happened? Any help on what I should be asking him or telling the council would be greatly appreciated.

As it's a council house permission should be obtained before any work is undertaken or they could rip it out and charge the tenant for it. If he goes agead and does this I think your position should be when you move in tell the council what you know and they'll most likely send someone out to check it over however, the logic of installing a shower in a house you're going to move out of escapes me.
You don't have to be qualified, the phrase is "competent" but this is notifiable work and should be carried out by a member of a competent person's scheme or be checked over by the authority's building control department.

There is nothing in the electrical regs to stop anyone doing electrical work