Discuss Alarm door contacts Help!!!! in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

hoppy

-
Reaction score
Hi I have no experience of alarms, I have just bought an alarm kit for my own house, it is a Honeywell accenta G4 mini panel, anyways I want to wire two door contacts to it, 1 for front and one for back doors, but I haven't got a clue on what connections are required at the contacts as there are five terminals and what connections are required at the panel.

Could someone please give me a little help, I have done some research and it has confused me more, as I read I may need resistors? I know each contact requires two cores!

I have connected the rest of the alarm no problem, 5 motion sensors and an auto dialer, everything else works fine, the contacts are probably the easiest thing, but they have baffled me.

Help please?

Two cores to each door contact connect on the normally closed terminals. At the panel connect them into the tamper terminals.

Thanks for your reply Hawk, again probably a basic question, but what are the normally closed terminals on the door contact as nothing is labelled, would that be the two silver terminals which have a pre-wired resistor across them?

Many thanks again for your help!

you take them into the zone's terminal at the panel not tampers and then the two middle terminals at the door contact. each door contact should be not its own zone

Thanks guys, so let me clarify this. each contact is simply a zone at the panel (2 connections), then at the door contact I connect 1 core to each of the silver terminals that are connected by a resistor across them? Thus ignoring the other 3 brass terminals at the door contact?
So no tamper connections are required?

The terminals on the contacts are to make it easier to junction cables into switches, thats what they are there for, and to terminate tamper loop..... hope diagram helps.

Door Contacts.jpg