Discuss Am i doing enough .... ? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Ive been working with an electrician full time for the last 3 months. Before that i was in college for a year.

I feel like im not doing good enough. In 5 hours i only second fixed 4 sockets, 10 spots and 7 smokeys. Ive done more than that in a time frame before but its probably not far from my average. I feel im too slow but if i try to speed up it doesn't seem to work at this point as i feel like i rush and end up slower.

Another thing is I make mistakes as well. In one job I got the switch fire and the permanent the wrong way round in the pendant, A live in a spot was not pushed in fully and a possible earth leakage fault that went away after some reconnecting. There was say 50 spots and 40 sockets and 10 pendants in total.

Am i doing badly or is this to be expected ? I want to be better and faster and im a bit worried im just not getting it.

Are there some people who it just isnt for and dont get to a good enough standard or if i keep trying will i get it ?

Ive been working with an electrician full time for the last 3 months. Before that i was in college for a year.

I feel like im not doing good enough. In 5 hours i only second fixed 4 sockets, 10 spots and 7 smokeys. Ive done more than that in a time frame before but its probably not far from my average. I feel im too slow but if i try to speed up it doesn't seem to work at this point as i feel like i rush and end up slower.

Another thing is I make mistakes as well. In one job I got the switch fire and the permanent the wrong way round in the pendant, A live in a spot was not pushed in fully and a possible earth leakage fault that went away after some reconnecting. There was say 50 spots and 40 sockets and 10 pendants in total.