Discuss AM2 help! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

SouthyBCFC

Hi I am a 3rd year apprentice working at my local council coming towards the end of my apprenticeship (not a frequent poster on here) however I have came across various threads on the forum regarding the current AM2 test. Having read through many of them which have helped hugely with thoughts on how to prepare myself for my upcoming AM2 in two weeks time (which I admit I feel comfortable about given the amount of testing/fault finding I have been involved with recently) is there anymore thoughts/help/advice on the current AM2 test that anyone out there who can offer that I should look into/practice that may not have been already covered on here or not as immediately obvious as first thought. It would be of a great help to me ( and there might be a pint on offer if it saves my bacon) :bucktooth:

Many thanks Tom

Since you seem pretty confident, just relax, read the information correctly, dont rush, pick the correct size cable (if in doubt and in a rush the bigger cable), pick the correct size and type of protective devices and put in correct places in the DB, know how to work out thermal overload for the motor, make sure you use correct cable for each circuit, use correct clips for fp500.

On the testing and fault finding, talk to the assessor as you are doing it explaining what you are doing, remember to do full safe isolation every time its needed. keep key in pocket etc.

any more specific questions, just ask and ill try and remember. I passed mine in March

follow farma advice, every test centre does it differently if you go to an am2 refresher day there you can ask about how that centre likes things done.

dont ask directly like that though, ask the staff what they like to see in certain things.

write on the test sheet max zs for each circuit in the comments box.