Discuss Another EICR RCD question in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

John777

DIY
Reaction score
Hi All.

Sorry for not introducing myself and asking a question on my firs post, but I have been losing sleep lately...

An electrician went into flat and did EICR. Would not give a copy until I paid up front and now says I need a new fuse box etc £850 + worth of work. My flat is tenanted and in excellent condition. It was built about 20 years ago. The wiring looks safe enough to me (I'm not an electrician tho!) but there is no RCD.

I am lead to believe that it doesn't need to be changed, since no new circuits have been added.

I attach EICR and photo of fuse boxAnother EICR RCD question fuse box2 - EletriciansForums.net

Any advice would be appreciated

Last edited by a moderator:
@John777

I have removed the certificate you posted as you left all the contractors details on the cert' if you wish to post these reports please ensure all information is fully redacted that can identify the address and contractor.
I would like if you fully redact the info' as opposed to partially doing so like address etc.

Last edited:
On a personal view, I agree with Tel, I would say C3 for lack of RCD, however in general more and more would venture towards C2 these days.

As for the third C2, it would depend on the size of the shower, this could be above 32A but below the cable limit, as it's a fixed load the MCB does not have to provide overload protection so the 40A MCB could be fine as it is.

In saying all the above, replacing the consumer units would be a worthwhile investment.

Looks like it was done pretty decently. A look inside and at the main incomer and tails would be interesting. Might be a fair job for someone decent. You never know, though.

Hi All.