Discuss Anyone Go Night School/college To Become An Electrician? Not Apprenteship in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Did anyone go night school/college to become a qualified electrician today? Curious because most people take the apprenteship route but sometimes that is not an option. Anyone?

I did a year at college doing my level 2 in the day 3 times a week as I was 18 at the time. I then started my level 3 at the age of 19 which took another year and I did that one night a week at college. I worked as a mate whilst i did my level 3 and for a few years thereafter. I did my 2394 and 2395 at the age of 21 and setup at on my own in may last year when I turned 22. I don't have the NVQ or AM2 and as much as i'd like to do it, I just can't justify the price, for now at least. I learn everyday and respect the fact that I don't know everything. Going self employed was the best thing as I did as my boss would never put me on his books and the pay was really really sh*te. That said it was a stepping stone, I learnt a hell of a lot from it and in return he got very good value for money.

Sounds like you've got it all going for u mate that's really good are you enjoying it? I start my course is September and I do electrical maintenance currently industrial but would like to do domestic in future. Do you get a lot of work now being self employed mate? I'm 22 looking to be qualified by 25. Got to do 3 years

Sounds like you've got it all going for u mate that's really good are you enjoying it? I start my course is September and I do electrical maintenance currently industrial but would like to do domestic in future. Do you get a lot of work now being self employed mate? I'm 22 looking to be qualified by 25. Got to do 3 years