Discuss anything wrong with my wiring diagram? 2x PIRs lighting contol in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

deridere

Hi all, would you be able to confirm the attached diagram will do the described scenarios?
Original diagram
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fp4td333alpe335/800px-MultiPIRandLampCircuit%20Original.gif?dl=0
Amended
800px-MultiPIRandLampCircuit.gif
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vkbpfwp7atlc9vs/800px-MultiPIRandLampCircuit.gif?dl=0

I'm AudioVideo and Control engineer by trade, so go easy on me.

I've built a brand new front porch, and wife requires for lighting to be controlled by PIR. There will be a few mains GU10 down lighters in the porch, and one outside light. Also one ceiling mounted PIR inside the porch and one PIR outside to monitor the path to the house ( but can't see the front door). When wife comes home with shoping in her hands, outside PIR monitors the path and switches outside light ON, She opens the porch door, and inside PIR switches porch lights ON. And now she goes out to spend some of mine hard earned money: she enters the porch, and porch PIR switches BOTH inside and outside lights.

This last thing I'm not too sure about?

And can the manual switch force both lights ON? This switch is already in the house, with only 2 core and earth, and its under plaster.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
as it is on the diagram, either PIR activating will switch both lights on. i'd leave it ast that save over complicating the issue.

Now I need tips of arguing this out with the wife!? She does not compromise normally, but I'll try! :)

amended diagram , either PIR will still switch both lights on.

What should I change on the diagram to avoid the family drama over bloody Lights?

A PIR is just a switch, it cannot control different lights when it switches, it can only turn on or off whatever it is connected to.