Discuss Are employers spying on employees using Simpro software in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,Richie here. I've been an electrician 20 years. Recently in the last few years software called simpro became available to us. With some positive results it also has some negative. Are employers using it inappropriately by knowing the whereabouts of workers long after they have finished their shifts. For example : the employee getting a call when at home on a day off or after a shift and the employer stating that they know the employee is home because they can track the movements and any updates by using simpro. Company phone, IPad, laptop etc...Have we accepted this or is it a violation of privacy. Would like to hear some feedback from you guys out there.

Tracking vehicles and workforce is pretty standard stuff these days is it not? Can be used to save overheads by sending nearest man, also handy if vehicle is stolen.

I suspect for company-supplied equipment on company time they can pretty much do as they like provided the related policies are down clearly in writing and communicated to the employees. But in that case after hours you just switch the stuff off :)

It is more of a grey area for employer stuff installed on your own phone, etc. At the place I used to work some folk had access to medical data, personal information, etc, and so introduced a policy of all phones accessing company stuff had to have remote-wipe installed under their control.

Needless to say many folk were not happy at the prospect of personal stuff[*] being wiped by mistake, etc! In that case many folk simply opted not to use their phones/iPad/etc for company work and I think some were issues with company equipment as a result. Nobody got too arsey about it, but it was an area that both sides have a valid point and need to accept the other's rights and obligations.