Discuss Armoured cable 16mm or 25mm in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I am not an electrician. Can anyone help please?

I have an outbuilding which I am converting into two offices.

The building is currently served by a 16mm armoured cable running underground from my house, the distance is about 100 metres.

Potentially the building could have a maximum of the following appliances:-

2x2kw electric oil filled radiators
1x1.5kw electric oil filled radiator
Hand wash 2.5kw
Electric Kettle 2.5kw
Saniflo 400 watts
Vacuum Cleaner 1kw
4 Fluorescent Lights
2 Computers
Total aprox 13kw

Will the existing 16mm cable be adequate or will I have to have it replaced with a 25mm armoured cable.

Thank you

bear in mind that not all loads will be in use simultaneously. applying diversity, I'd allow for an aveage load of 8kW. that equates to c. 40A, so as far as current capacity, 16mm will,be fine. volt drop however may be a factor.

For a 40 amp load over that distance you will have a volt drop of 11.2 volts.

As you have lighting the maximum permitted is 3%, 6.9 volts, even using 25mm you are just over for volt drop.

Also depending on your current earthing arrangements and protective device type you would be looking at 35mm as a minimum.

My advice is to employ the services of a local electrician to design and install this for you, a few figures and a bit of SWAG on the internet is no substitute for a full site visit and survey.

i could not be arsed to work out the VD as books are in van. however, for wtat it would cost to replace the 16mm cable versus exceeding the 3% for lighting, I'd fit LED lights which are happy with a slightly reduced voltage and sod it. at the end if the day, it's only a shed, not a hospital operating theatre. tin hat ready.