Discuss At the end of my rope! What should i do?? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

AlanWirral

Right guys...My current situation is getting worse and i'm not sure what i can do.

I'll explain as well as i can to give you a good background.

Ever since i was 18 i was a Lifting Gear Engineer. This invloved working in the entertainment industry on electric chain hoists and then onto building electrical control panels from scratch to operate them.For a few reasons i left this industry and got a temporary job working at a car dealership which with me loving cars was okay but it was really a stop gap until i found what i really wanted to do..this included retraining to be a spark.

At this point i'm 27. I met my old boss on the site as he did all the electrical work. We got talking and he said he needed somone and after looking at my old work and CV he managed to get me on a government scheme so i went to college one day a week(2330) and it was all paid for. He paid me £9 an hour which although was less than what i used to earn i was happy with (thinking qualified i'd be on £15+an hour)

So for the next 2 years we worked together on all sorts of domestic/commercial and some industrial work and my college going well with pretty much distinctions all the way. Then the day came he told me he'd been offered a job offshore for silly money and he just had to take it. With him having 3 kids i wouldn't stop him or make life difficult etc.

Over the next 2 months between myself/my employer and the government agency we tried to find me a new employer in order to finish my adult traineeship with. In June he finally had to let me go as he was knocking big jobs back as he would have to leave on a few days notice if he got the call.