Discuss Bad Breaker? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

MatthewP

DIY
Reaction score
USA member here, new to the forum.
I have limited electrical knowledge, my dad was a licensed electrician and showed me a few things. Over the years as a tradesman and owning a couple homes I’ve learned a bit.
On to the question at hand..
We’ve owned our house (built approx 1975) for 3 years. About a year ago we noticed a few outlets and a ceiling fan stopped working. Troubleshooting took me to the breaker and after replacing the breaker all was good again. Two weeks ago the same outlets and fan weren’t working, replaced the breaker and all was good. Today we realized that line is down again. Any thoughts before I call in a professional after the holiday?

A good test would be to isolate the main power (securely, and test that it is isolates) then test using an ohmmeter for continuity from busbar to breaker, breaker to wire, and wire to outlets to find the disconnection, without physically removing or disturbing anything that might temporaily conceal an intermittent fault. If the circuit is wired with aluminum cable, intermittent connections are more likely.

Possibilities include:
*Bad contact inside the panel (e.g from breaker to busbar maybe because the contact lug is damaged) or to the cable itself either hot or neutral. This would have been disturbed when you previously changed the breaker, making you think that the breaker was faulty when in fact it was just the connection.
*Bad connection at or before first affected point on circuit. Does not explain how it made contact again immediately after changing breaker, twice.
* Multiple faulty breakers; very unlikely, unless they have all been constantly overloaded (does it ever trip? Are there heavy loads on those outlets?)