Discuss Ballast wiring strip light problem, help needed please! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

L&L2205

Hi,

Im new to this forum today, Im not an electrician but was given some advice from an electrician yesterday which has since proven to be wrong, but I urgently need some advice please!

I have a fish tank with a 120cm strip light, basically the old ballast is broken, I yesterday purchased a new ballast and the electrician who sold it to me said it would work if I just rewired it, replacing the old.

However, after trying every combination of wiring possible with the new ballast, I only managed to get a brief flicker of light before the circuit broke again.

There are just three wires to connect. Ive checked everything else works on the unit, Ive also changed the fuse on the plug.

Im boggled as to why I managed to get a brief flicker on the lights but not been able to get one again.

Any ideas? Id be very grateful for any advice as my fish are without light.

Lauren

Attatched are the pictures of the ballast and the wires.

Attachments

• 06122009269.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 47
  • 06122009272.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 45
Your a wire short to the tube ends. there should be two wires to each end cap of the tube. 2 to 11 and 12, and 2 to 13 and 14.

That ballast should also be earthed to 3 with the power to 4&5

Last edited by a moderator:
Take a birds eye pic of the old ballast with the info on cant make it out fully need to see connections and rating to see if new one is compatable.

Looking at the new ballast it seems to be a 20w ballast and 120cm lamps are normally 40w, also thinking about the 3 wires out, could there be a wire from one end cap to the other, if so you should check the old ballast to see if there is a link between any of the output terminals.