Discuss Bathroom installation advice in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

albacridhe

Good Morning,

I'm hoping for some advice on a bathroom electrical installation. I am not an electrician and wont be doing the electrical work...

My electrician has gone on holiday for a couple of weeks so I can't ask him my questions, in the meantime I'm trying to get as much of the building work done as I can before he comes to do his bits and just would like some rough advice on how much I could do without causing him or me a problem when he gets there (like covering up too much and having to re-do things)

The job is a shower/WC room. Existing electrics comprise of a single light in the centre of the ceiling and a single extract fan. There is a single switch on the outside of the room which operates both - not planning to change this. Its top floor so can access above the ceiling from the loft.

The proposed installation is for 3 recessed down-lights, a new extract and an LED mirror with shaving socket.

Where the mirror is going I have put up studs and will have plasterboard screwed on (not skimmed over) so we can take it of and I guess run a wire from the ceiling. - 1st question is on this: where would the power for the mirror/ shaver come from? When we spoke before he said it could come from the lighting ring - is that right?

2nd question - if the shaver/ mirror comes from the lighting ring does that mean we need to modify / change the light switch outside the room and chase out for new wires (if so then I will hold off on re-plastering that wall. We would want the LED mirror light/ shaver to work whether that switch is on or off.

Wont be touching the ceiling till he's back.