Discuss Bathroom wiring queries in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

zeeman26

DIY
Reaction score
Hi guys

I am a newbie here and I am just a D.I.Yer so by no means an expert.

I have just put in a new bathroom and wanted to make some alterations to the wiring. There is a unswitched fuse inside the bathroom which is operated by a switched fuse outside the bathroom, I assume this was used for an electric towel rail/heater at one point. I would like to leave this in case one is installed in the future, I am replacing all the switches etc and wondered if I need the switch outside the bathroom to be fused or can it be a normal switch with the unswitched fuse in the bathroom? Also I have had a look at my fuse box and they are all MCB's. 6amp for lighting and 32amp for sockets. As far as I am aware all bathroom wiring should be RCD protected now? Would i need to change the fuse box or is there another way to satisfy the regulations?

Any more info required please let me know and thanks in advance.

you could fit a RCD fused sput unit to feed the bathroom circuit. if more than 1 circuit, you'd need a RCD FCU for each circuit.

Having a switched fuse (presumably FCU) feeding an unswitched fuse is odd but might have evolved from some past arrangement to have a connection point for a heated rail, etc. It might have been a way around the typical 10A limit & singe pole nature of a typical light switch, but you can get DP isolator switches in most accessory ranges rated at 20A which would do the job.