Discuss Best advise for new installation of LED floodlight in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

Daniel Morgan

Hill hope you can help. Need some advise or advise me on how to install a PIR LED floodlight as a new installation. We are wanting one fitted directly above the garage door to emit light onto our driveway but only come on when someone walks to the house or goes out to their car on a night. Started using LED light and find their much brighter and use much less power and maintenance free.

Currently their is no existing floodlight here for me to swap over with existing wiring. I'm not an electrician but 2 years ago qualified as a domestic installer along with a few months onsite experience so don't feel concerned tackling this job myself.

I want to run the feed from within the garage out to the outside of the garage to hide as much wiring as possible from the front of the house. As I can see the only real feed I can access from which will give it permanent feed and not interrupted by a switch is from a double plug socket.

My idea is to run some 1.5mm twin and earth from the double socket up to the light itself. My concern or thoughts are for the amount of power the LED floodlight will be drawing will 1.5mm be rated for this install and would I have to run a inline fuse inbetween the double socket and the wiring to the light to protect the cable? This is the light I'm going to use:

Timeguard LEDX20PIRB 20W LED Floodlight with PIR | Electricbase - http://www.electricbase.co.uk/timeguard-ledx20pirb-20w-led-1020-1712283

Thanks for your help on this matter

Is the garage circuit protected by a RCD?
Use 2.5mm to wire to a FCU and then wire the light in 1.5mm. Cable type depends on installation route.
What does the manual say?