Discuss Best tools? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jordan_cosgrove

Can anyone suggest some good quality tools that Electricians use/need, as I am an apprentice who is just to buy a few starter tools?

I would rather get the better tools rather than cheap ones which aren't as good..

Thanks

Strima

Electrician's Arms
I love Bahco screwdriver handles but prefer the CK shafts, that sounds so wrong. Shame you can't pick and choose handles etc...

Keep a close eye on decent tools, they tend to grow legs and bugger off.

thekingiam

Regular EF Member
my advice is buy the cheapest ones you can find to start off with, but a good hacksaw and bolster with hand protection. you are more likely to be carying your bosses tools to start off with and leaving your tools around while your assisting your boss they are more likely to get taken if expensive.your boss wont expect you to have all the tools you need a couple of screwdrivers hammer tape measure, a notepad maybe depending on the type of work your boss does. it sometimes takes years to build up a good colection of tools after your first day ask what your boss expects you to have.they don't bite .......usualy.

OP
D

D80

Find out how good you are losing stuff first. I've always been pretty good at that.

I have an expensive set of Wera drivers about 3-4 years old completely intact. A cheaper set of Wera's with about 2-3 left of the set a year old. No point investing big time in tools only to replace them constantly, and at the same time no point buying cheap stuff if its never lost.

thekingiam

Regular EF Member