Discuss Best way to become a qualified sparky? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

reactionmatt

Hi All

now I know I might get a bit of stick for this but here goes, I want to become an electrician! I would like some advice on the best way of doing this. Here it comes, I am actually a qualified plumber/ gas safe registered!, I have been in the industry for 10 years, originally I wanted to be a spark, but no apprentice opportunities were available at the time, I then got offered a plumbing apprenticeship, and the rest as they say is history!. Whilst I enjoy my job (am self employed) I always have found electrical work more interesting and when I am around other sparks am constantly asking questions and generally annoying them :). I have decided that whilst time is still relatively on my side (am 27), I would like to peruse a career in electrics. I am very aware that most electricians are against fast track courses, as am I, as in my job I come across these chancer cowboys claiming to be qualified because they soldered some pipe in a classroom or pushed some speed fit together, I know experience is key. Because of what I do I'm fortunate to know quite a lot of very good sparks, who I have told of my interest and they are more then happy to let me tag along with them (for free of course :)) to get some actual experience. Basically I would like to know the correct way of going about getting qualified, I know that it could take a few years, but when I look online I only seem to see all the crash course rubbish which does not interest me one bit!! I'm fortunate that I am self employed and have a trade under my belt already which allows me to work around any training schedules, I also like to think that I would learn quite quickly as I am working in a similar field, ie drilling joist chasing walls etc, health and safety.
Any advice would be much appreciated thanks

matt