Discuss Better speed control required for 24v dc mobility motor in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all, hope this is posted in the right place.
You'll probably guess after reading this post for help that i'm not an electrician!
I've built a 4-wheel buggy utilising a mobility scooter motor and wish to slow down the acceleration rate.
I am utilising the twist grip throttle from a 'stand-on' electric scooter as the speed controller to a 24V 500W Electric Bicycle E-bike Scooter Brush DC Motor Speed Controller .
However, when I select the throttle to slowly accelerate the buggy, it rears up and almost back somersaults! I need something that will give me more control over the speed/power. Any ideas?
Thanks,

Hi,are you saying that the throttle/pot is ramping acutely? that is,can achieve a slow speed,but has minimal travel,from that,to max?

Or is any input causing maximum speed?

What sort of mobility scooter are you using? Best thing is buy the motor controller for it, assuming you don't have it, then integrate your twist grip with the motor controller control panel wiring

As per PEG's description, do I understand correctly that the controller goes from zero to full over too small a range of the throttle grip movement? If so, are you sure that the throttle potentiometer is correctly wired to the controller, with the wiper terminal in the right place? If so, then the end-end resistance of the pot may be unsuitable for the controller. Do you know what that is and what the controller expects? This could be adapted, but a basic knowledge of electronics would be needed to understand how to tackle it.