Discuss Borrowed neutral - again! in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As I've said before, I'm not a qualified electrician but have worked as a mate a few times. I'm retired now and as a hobby I study all things electrical (domestic). I know this has been asked before on this forum but as an amateur I still can't understand how the wiring for "borrowed neutrals" was actually carried out in the "old days". The way I understand it - upstairs circuit and downstairs circuit are separate (in singles?). The customer now wants a "landing light" that is 2-way switched. The feed for the new light is taken from downstairs (say) and the neutral from upstairs. My basic question is - if they were taking a new feed to the light (or switch) from the downstairs circuit, why didn't they take a neutral at the same time? I've read many articles and watched many videos (John Ward and others) but still don't get it. What I really would appreciate is a wiring diagram.
John Ward's videos -
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBcw2JJsELs

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7C7Tkge5gvQ

Hi - I’ve never built one (honest Gov, it wasn’t me ...) but I thought the problem comes about because the 2 lights are physically far apart and the linking cables only contained L (?). So the temptation was to use the nearest available N which might then be from 2 different circuits.

The problem is the line not neutral, the name is confusing, it's call borrowed neutral, but is borrowed.