Discuss BS7671 in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

As above, buy from a reputable seller. Otherwise you risk getting a counterfeit version. False economy trying to save a tenner.

Just in case you were hoping for a downloadable version, the IET do not publish one. Therefore, any such versions you may find, will be illegal copies.

(There is such a thing as a subscription to an online version, but it's very expensive).

Hi
Thanks, but I wanted a free copy, since i'm not an electrician. shouldn't it be available like legislation?

Hi
Thanks, but I wanted a free copy, since i'm not an electrician. shouldn't it be available like legislation?
No, because it’s a British Standard and not a legislation. You don’t have to work to BS:7671 to comply with legislation, but you do have to be able to prove your work is at least as safe as work to BS:7671 if you choose not to use it.

It’s like the difference between the Road Traffic Act and the Highway Code. One is the legislation that you’d be charged in accordance with if you’re caught breaking it, the other gives guidance on how not to break that legislation in the first place.

Hi
Thanks, but I wanted a free copy, since i'm not an electrician.

If you're not an electrician, why do you want a copy?

If it's out of genuine interest, which is keen enough to make the content valuable to you, then is £60-odd too much to pay? Or possibly less if you can get lucky on eBay.

What is your current level of knowledge re electrical installation work? The book is not an instruction manual - if you don't already know a fair bit then not only will you not be able to learn from it, you might well not understand it, or much of it.

It’s like the difference between the Road Traffic Act and the Highway Code. One is the legislation that you’d be charged in accordance with if you’re caught breaking it, the other gives guidance on how not to break that legislation in the first place.