Discuss building control question. in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

j.chal

hi all

I am an electrician and just started doing work for myself, I have been installing solar subcontracting so have not needed part p as the company I work for is. I have all qualifications apprenticeship and testing 2391, solar and more and am to the 17th edition wiring regulations.

I have got a job installing sockets and a light point in a cellar for TVs and a projector for a little cinema room, this would not normally mean I would have to notify building control but there is no ring to break into (all sockets are spurred and cable not in correct zones in this particular room) and I cannot get access to ground floor cabling because of the type of flooring. the consumer unit needs updating as it has no RCDs (old MCBs) but the customer doesn’t want to pay for this as same as everyone has low funds, I can’t force him to update it, the ccu is above the room in question.
I take it I cannot wire new ring and lighting into existing CCU as it is a new circuit not protected by an RCD less than 50mm from wall surface and used by untrained persons so best option I think new ring and lighting wired into a separate 2-3 way mains unit next to the current CCU. (There is space)

What are my obligations with building control? I know I have to notify it now as it is a new circuit but surely I don’t have to pay 150 + inspector charges when 1 the job will only be about £500 and 2 have to pay inspector charges when I have all the relevant qualifications to produce certification. Am I reading this entirely wrong how much is all this BC inspection going to cost?
Sorry if something like this has been posted before.