Discuss Building inspectors in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

gazdkw82

-
Arms
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the correct section.

We are looking to start a 2 storey side extension on our home. We are a little confused with building control.

The builder has advised that you can either go private or use the council.

Iv heard good and bad for both.

Do any of you have experience with either? Could you share some advice?

I have had no experience of private building control, but I know that our building control officers are mint if the job is mint.
As long as you go by the book they should be fine.

Ours was done privately, he asked if we had any lectical work done as he's dodging the first fix cables hanging from the ceiling.

I jokingly said 'no', he said 'OK then'...

Only used Local Authority who will be fine so long as you have good architect, and structural engineer etc. Even better if they and builder know the quirks of the local authority. Then I suspect cost would be a contributory factor in your decision? :)

'Good' builders don't seem to have any issues with building control surveyors local authority or private, but have come across some builders that haven't given me a great deal of confidence and wouldn't want them working on my house!

'Good' builders don't seem to have any issues with building control surveyors local authority or private, but have come across some builders that haven't given me a great deal of confidence and wouldn't want them working on my house!

Builders are another thing altogether. We have been looking for over a year now. Had well over 20 builders visit the property. Only 3 quotes. Other than the latest, the other quotes were way over the top.

Its not even a bad job, I will be dealing with electrical, plumbing, carpentry and plastering. We only wanted a sealed shell.

I have always used a local architect.
1. He knows the local BC guys and what they will/won't allow.