Discuss Burglar alarms - what type and where to get them ? in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

Steve D

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the game. I've just passed my 2330 and 17th ed and part way through my 2391.

However, I'm just after a few tips regarding where's best to buy burglar alarms and what sort of alarms you guys recommend/usually fit.

Is wired or wireless the best way to go ?

I have a customer who ideally wants an autodial type. From your experience, is it best to get a system with an inbuilt autodialer or a separate autodialer connected up?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

If you are looking for a speech / text dialler the Texecom unit is the one I use, it is not cheap though. Their panels are good as well
I would use stand alone units as a lightining strike on a phone line can take the intruder alarm out on a combined unit and also needs alot more work to swap out if the dialler fails

With regard to buying equipment there are a few places on the web also Gardiner Security has branches around the country

Last edited:
I agree with regard to Texecom, good quality kit. I get min e from Alert Electrical on the web.

Mark

Risco's gardtec range is the best you'll find available I think. They sell a few types of wired and hybrid wireless systems. Need an account though but not too difficult to set one up. I'd go for one with a built in auto dialler although they do sell them seperately. Less work as you just connect The phone line to pcb and programme no's at rkp. Don't forget your adsl filter!!!

Don't fall in to the trap of putting any old crap in though you'll come unstuck with it going off. Then you've guessed it call backs!

Risco have a good technical help department which will be a god send if you've never programmer an alarm panel before!