Discuss Buzzing comin from Alarm in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

snadge

Hi all...

Im new to the forum

Im not an electrician by trade and have a question - we recently moved into a home we bought, the ex-owner had an alarm but didnt leave any code and we could not contact her so yesterday we arranged for someone to come out to look at it and give us a price for reset etc... he got here and immediatley got into the Job and checked it was working which took him about 20 minutes of testing - he wanted to sink the cables under the floor upstairs etc but we said just a reset... he also installed a 3rd motion detector in passage and new battery, the total was rounded off at £100 for paying cash.... a little more than we hoped for 30 mins work... anyway, tonight ive noticed a buzzing/humming coming from it, it can even be heard up top of stairs and in bedroom in silence, that will drive me mad as i try to sleep... now I just know when I ring him back tomorrow hes gunna say "its just old and needs replacing" and we cant afford that, I think its the battery he put in or isnt hooked up right, i do remember him saying something along the lines of "i dont know why that keeps dropping though" referring I think too the GCH fuse switch on a fusebox - theres the MAIN fusebox then a seperate one that has GCH on - after he had been we had to switch it back on to get heating on - im just wondering if this has anything to do with it as I didnt realise the noise when he serviced it?

I ask as we just cant afford to keep paying this man for new parts and service - she wasnt bothered about an alarm - I could install a wireless one myself at a later date, I wished we just ripped it out and all the cables now hehe

thanks