Discuss C&G 2391-52 course content/delivery in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Question about 2391-52 (initial verification and periodic testing)

A brief background to my situation; I do some in-house wiring for industrial applications, stuff like 3-phase motors, phase controllers, machines into spurs, that sort of thing. I’m not a proper spark & don’t pretend to be - which is where my problems start. I’m trying to get off the factory floor and into the field a bit more - this means doing the same jobs but at a customers site. Customers understandably want proof of competence for their risk assessments and insurance, which I need to get.

I’ve been on the standard 18th Ed course & passed the test fine. This is because they taught me everything during the course - I’d never even opened the regs book until I was in the classroom.

So, the 2391-52 course is apparently very difficult. But will they teach me everything I need to know as part of the course before the test? They say prior experience is essential, but realistically how much experience is needed? Or is it really a case that I should only go on it if I am already able to do it?

In the regs course I noticed that I had an advantage over experience as I had to look up every single answer in the book whereas anyone with experience answered straight away and often gave the real-life answer instead of the regs answer. I guess this won’t be the case for the 2391-52?

Tl;dr; What are the chances of reading GN3 and blagging it?

Thanks for any guidance!

How comfortable are you with testing and inspection? Do you test the work you do now and fill in installation certs?

How comfortable are you with testing and inspection? Do you test the work you do now and fill in installation certs?
I’d say I’m comfortable with the concepts, but not overly familiar with the example certs in the regs book, or the practical side of them.