Discuss Cable run under floorboards in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Group

Had a third party inspection by a NAPIT tester, to get building control approval for a pv installation.
He has failed the cable run in Twin and Earth under my floorboards even though its greater than 50mm from surface. No 30ma RCD fitted to this circuit.

I though it was acceptable if the cable was 50mm or greater from the top of the joists?
Thanks for advice in advance

Iain

Did he give you a reg No that you are falling foul of?

Unless it's relevant to PV which I have no experience of, there's nothing wrong with running cables below floorboards.
Your biggest concern would be building regs.

Last edited:
Is it 50mm from the ceiling below too? ;) Edit - as Dave points out its not applicable anyway to running through floors.

Likewise I have no PV experience so leave that to the PV guys.

Last edited:
The inverter manufacturer SMA Sunny boy guidance says do not use an RCD with a tripping current of less than 100ma to prevent false tripping which the NAPIT tester will not accept (he wants a 30ma RCD.

The cable is fully visble for all of its run from airing cupboard and along landing.

I have not asked him yet to quote the reg he's failing it on.

The inverter manufacturer SMA Sunny boy guidance says do not use an RCD with a tripping current of less than 100ma to prevent false tripping which the NAPIT tester will not accept (he wants a 30ma RCD.

Is the cable installed in a wall then?

Clipped direct to wall, not in wall and then under flooirboards

Then I would say that you do not need an rcd, it sounds like the inverter manufacturer are saying that if you use an rcd then it should be 100ma. It doesn't sound to me that they are saying that they require one.