Discuss Can I add an extra board or sub board to my old (1970's) fuse board? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Michael W

DIY
Reaction score
Hello everyone, This is my first post and I am looking for some good ,solid and honest advice. I'm a pretty confident all rounder (Carpenter by trade) but am reluctant to go in too deep on this one. I am hoping that your expertise and well earned knowledge could explain what for yourselves is probably very simple! I recently moved into a 1970 bungalow that has no electric shower. I have pulled through a 10mm2 cable from the consumer unit to the bathroom. It needs connecting to the main supply but there isn't room on the (very small) breaker board. Would it be possible to add another board off the main board to accommodate an extra fuse (or two)? Not a job for me but for an expert who will be given the work if they choose to do it. The house is wired up for economy 10 but all of the night stores have been removed and only an immersion heater runs on that side of the power. Am I looking at having to replace the board with a new one or is there a quicker way around it? Many thanks in advance.IMG_20200730_121629.jpg

you can get a small CU ( RCD and 1 MCB ) for the shower. supply it not from your existing CU , but with tails from the double pole Henley block which has spare capacity for extra tails.

As already said you can get a small dedicated CU (consumer unit = fuse box) for just the shower. That is the quickest & cheapest option.

But really you would be better to have the existing fuse box replaced with one that gives you RCD protection on all circuits and has a couple of spare slots for the future. If going down that path check out local electrician's reputations and get a couple of quotes from the reputable ones the work.