Discuss Can somebody help me understand these light wires please? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Paul Beckwith

In my property i need to install a light that i have just bought from a shop.

Although i understand electrics a bit I'm not an electrician and I'm not quite 100% confident.

Can somebody be kind enough to advise me the procedure they would take when faced with the wires situation in the picture below:

wires.jpg

As you can see, there's 2 main white cables. There's a red wire inside each white cable and they are joined together by black tape. The bit i don't understand is why there are 2 black wires (1 from each white cable) but they are separated by a plastic electrical connector (ie not in contact with one another). Why have they been separated/isolated? Do they need to be separated when i wire up the light I've bought too? If so how will the light work?

I know people are going to say pay for an electrician but i honestly can't afford one. So any advice about what you would do if you was going to wire up the light would be appreciated. I have bought a voltage tester.

Thanks.

Ok so the two reds will be a permanent feed which means even when the light is switched off at the switch these two reds will always be live. They need to stay together in the connector. One of the black wires will be a switch wire which is from the switch which should go into the brown on your new light and the other black wire should be a neutral which goes to the blue. You can check which is the switch wire by testing with your voltage tester between one of the black wires and earth and and if you operate the switch you should get 230v.

This is a standard way of it being done. What you have is neutral, switched live and permanent live.