Discuss Can someone help me wire a new light fitting into an old house with old wiring systems. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I’m a junior electrician, fresh out of college. I did some minor electrical work for a friend buI tried to put up a new chandelier I came across:
  • Two Line wires (RED), going into one connector block
  • Two Neutrals (BLACK), separated into different connector blocks
- Two CPC wires, going into one connector block.
The chandelier has one line, one neutral and one earth.

I wired it up putting the neutral in one neutral block. When turned on the bulbs barely lit up.
When i switched the wire to the other neutral block it lit up greatly, however could not be turned off.
When i put both neutrals in one block, the light lit up, but tripped the fuse when I attempted to turn it off.
I know little about old domestic systems. Can someone please advise.

The two black wires are likely NOT both neutrals!

The fact that they were in separate connectors blocks, rather than connected together should be a clue.

Perhaps one is switched live, and one neutral, which would be typical for a lot of domestic wiring.

The answer is in your own post. You need to wire it exactly as it was.

I’m a junior electrician, fresh out of college. I did some minor electrical work for a friend buI tried to put up a new chandelier I came across:

I wired it up putting the neutral in one neutral block. When turned on the bulbs barely lit up.
When i switched the wire to the other neutral block it lit up greatly, however could not be turned off.
When i put both neutrals in one block, the light lit up, but tripped the fuse when I attempted to turn it off.
Where do you live Mate?????

It's a three plate wiring system, one of the red/black/cpc cables is the live feed, the other is the switch.