Discuss Career Change - What would you do in my shoes... in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've done a lot of reading here and elsewhere and am 90% sure of what i am going to do but would like some options from people in the know/that have done it.

Background: I have been a physics teacher for 9 years but have always wanted a practical trade based job. I am quite confident with most diy things and have decided i really want a change and electrician is the way i want to go.

At the age of 30, my options are limited. My current thinking is to do the NVQ level 3 course with Option Skills. It is expensive at 6.5k but it can be done over 8 weeks. I then figured i could get a job as an electricians mate and slowly gain experience etc and be given more responsibility.

I get paid full time from teaching in August so that would cover 4 of my 8 weeks on the course.

The other option is trying to get a job as an electricians mate straight away and work up to doing a course but i have a family and so weekends/evenings are precious.

I guess my main question is it it difficult to get a job working with another electrician once i have my qualifications and is this the route you would take?

Thanks in advance,
Frank

Welcome Frank, I've got to ask though, why do you want to leave teaching, it's not a bad career is it? are are you finding Teaching unrewarding, if you take this route of a career change, it wont be an easy transition, not just because of your previous role, but for anyone who, hasn't worked with their hands, although you did mention you have some good DIY skill. Any how good luck with your career change hope it all goes as planned.