Discuss Cctv installation should i or shouldnt i? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

mgnelec09

Hi,

I am currently pricing a full installation for a new build 5 bedroom property which is out in the sticks.

They have asked me to price for an 8 way Dvr system which feeds the images back to the main TV in the lounge.

Reluctantly I exlained that I have very limited experience in this field but will have a look into it for them.

In reality I have no experience with CCTV.

I think they are wanting 4 cameras around the property.

Is this something that is easy enough to have a crack at? if so can you recommend a good system to use and give a few pointers on how to install.

Many Thanks

Is there any specific equipment you would recommend?

I have always been interested in having a go at it but hesitant as dont really know where to start

How much would I be looking at for a decent quality system and where is the best place to get it?

many thanks

Whatever you do don't turn it down it really is easy and modern day life has gotten the consumer really wanting to have CCTV of one kind or another installed. Plenty of money to be made there. You can buy a kit from the likes of TLC and others. For the runs use shotgun cable (coax for image and twin as power supply). You can also buy a power unit where all the cameras are supplied from the same step down transformer. All the best mate, if you get stuck I am sure there is plenty of help around here. Cheers

You can also run both power & video & control over a single length of Cat5 normally :) CCTV is very simple to install however!

try ESP gear from electric centre. it's in their catalogue. 8 way dvr with 4 cameras. comes out around £600 inc. vat.