Discuss Chandelier (which has gone way off topic) in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

millenniummel

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi Guys,

I am a complete newbie to this forum. I am a 23 year old female who was silly enough to buy a chandelier in the sale and now i'm not sure if I am able to attach it...

I have detached the celing rose on the existing light fitting and it looks like so;

The chandelier fitting looks like this;

The bracket and bits and bobs that came with the chandelier are featured here;

And my pretty chandelier looks like this if you are intrested;

Anyway I consulted a friend of mine who is more knowledgable about DIY than I am and he is concerned because there is no visible earth wire and this is a metal chandelier. My concerns are based around the fact that it looks like I need to drill the bracket into the ceiling and I only possess two cheap woolworths screwdrivers.

Any advice or help greatly appreciated (I live in SW london if anyone wants to come do it for me hee hee).

Thanks

Mel x

Electrical2Go - Online Electrical Supplier
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members
S

Spudmiester

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Re: Chandelier

Get a spark in love !

S

simonatlondon

Please get an electrician in. That light fitting needs to be earthed in case the chandelier ever gets a fault and the metal becomes live and some one touches it. Please for your own safety. Please let us know how you get on.

C

Cirrus

As the guys have already said. It may be if you remove the rose that tucked up in the ceiling are the earth's. However, my advice is to get a Spark in and leave it to the pro - won't cost you much but t least it will be SAFE;)

W

wattsup

SW London, I'll do it for £60.00 + £300.00 expenses..-;) a bit tooo far fo me..