Discuss Change Power Tools in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

RDB85

-
Trainee
Reaction score
I’m in two minds whether to change my current 18v Dewalt SDS/Combi/Impact. I currently work in the Fire and Security industry. Mainly doing Alarms and CCTV.

I rarely use the Impact, the Combi is okay when it works and the SDS is good. But I’ve found that when I need to put up say a PIR and the wall is solid brick for example the Combi won’t cut it and the SDS is too awkward to use.

The SDS can also be rather cumbersome when putting up a Bell Box or CCTV back box.

So I was thinking of selling it for the Milwaukee 12v SDS and Combi, as the smaller size would be perfect I would imagine. I know that when we do Fire Alarms generally it’s 16mm to 20mm holes for the cables. But I would like some advice. I did used to have the 18v Milwaukee kit but the SDS was rather large and somewhat on the heavy side for the type of work we do.

Im also open to other brands and suggestions.

Drilling fixings with the combi will depend on how hard the brick is.

I find the dewalt extreme masonry bits very good and will work in all but the hardest brick. Often without the need for hammer setting. Cheap from toolstation too.

Drilling fixings with the combi will depend on how hard the brick is.

I find the dewalt extreme masonry bits very good and will work in all but the hardest brick. Often without the need for hammer setting. Cheap from toolstation too.
I have some Bosch Mutimaterial Bits and Milwaukee ones too which are both very good. I may have a look at them.

I have milwaukee 12v and 18v gear. I can say hands down the 12v fuel sds will NOT drill a 16 or 20mm hole. 10mm is around the max it can do for large bolts. If your looking to drill holes in walls is 18v. However, I do find the 12v gear lightweight and very handy especially when carrying it around all day.